Tassie teachers recognised for excellence in education

Jeremy Rockliff, Tasmanian minister for education and training issued congratulations to the 16 Tasmanian Department of Education Awards for Excellence winners announced in October 20.

He says the awards recognise some of Tassie’s best public educators, volunteers and staff who have demonstrated outstanding excellence, innovation and talent.

Whole school awards included the Principals and Teachers of the Year for Primary and Secondary schools won by staff from Nixon Street Primary School, Bayview Secondary College, East Devonport Primary School and Elizabeth College respectively.

“All the winners of the 2017 Department of Education Awards for Excellence exemplify the high-quality work that is undertaken every day by staff and volunteers from across the Department,” Mr Rockliff said.

Delivered in partnership with Tasplan, Teachers Health Fund and Telstra, he said, “the awards recognise excellence across our diverse education system and the variety of roles supporting Tasmania’s next generation within schools and school communities”.

He says the government’s goal to “lead the nation in education and create a job ready generation” will be achieved “through the talented and dedicated people working in public education, and their focus on improving learning outcomes for our young people”.

“I am so pleased that the Tasmanian community, along with the department, has been able to recognise their contribution to the delivery of high quality education and education services,” the minister concluded.

And the 2017 Tasmanian Education Award Winners are:


Tasplan Secretary’s Award for Overall Excellence

  • Bronwyn Carroll, School Business Manager, Evandale Primary School

School Awards

PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR – EARLY YEARS AND PRIMARY Meredith Cashion – Nixon Street Primary School
PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR – SECONDARY Gill Berriman – Bayview Secondary College

Principal of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Meredith Cashion, Principal Nixon Street Primary School

Principal of the Year – Secondary

  • Gill Berriman, Principal Bayview Secondary College

Teacher of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Jo-anne Coates, Teacher ECIS, East Devonport Primary School and Child and Family Centre

Teacher of the Year – Secondary

  • Susan Oakden, Teacher Elizabeth College

Teachers Health Outstanding Young Teacher

  • Georgia Salter, Teacher Goodwood Primary School


School Business Manager of the Year

  • Bronwyn Carroll, School Business Manager, Evandale Primary School

Support Employee of the Year

  • Kelly Quon, Teacher Assistant Ravenswood Heights Primary School

Professional Support Specialist of the Year

  • Susan Diprose, Senior Social Worker Learning Services Northern Region

Service Awards (Department-Based)

Departmental Employee of the Year

  • Lynne McDougall, Director Disability Programs

LINC Employee of the Year

  • Ellen Lamb, Information Services Coordinator Burnie LINC

Young Employee of the Year

  • Stephen Dodd, Network Support Officer Learning Services Northern Region

Outstanding Team of the Year

  • Bicheno-St Marys Music Teachers Co-operative – Nik Wardlaw and Eliza Spykers


Telstra Outstanding Use of Innovation or Technology

  • Launceston College STEAM Team – Kent Poulton, Keith Wenn, Amanda Smith, Mark Gleeson, Evan Starky

Community Awards

Volunteer of the Year Award (all 3 finalists recognised for their outstanding contributions)

  • Gary French, Bayview Secondary College
  • Mark Jones, Huon Valley Trade Training Centre
  • Matthew Marshall, Parklands High School

School News

School News is not affiliated with any government agency, body or political party. We are an independently owned, family-operated magazine.

Related Articles

Back to top button
SchoolNews - Australia