Maths to be compulsory for students

Maths will be compulsory for all students in the revised NSW curriculum.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian said the NSW Government is working to make maths compulsory from Kindergarten to Year 12 to ensure students have the numeracy skills required to succeed in today’s society.

“We promised to take the curriculum back to the basics and today we are taking the first steps to deliver on that commitment by prioritising maths,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“My vision is for every child in NSW to have the necessary maths skills to succeed in life, whether that’s managing home budgets or preparing them for the jobs of the future in science, technology and engineering.”

Earlier this week, the interim report into the NSW Curriculum Review was released signalling the start of the biggest shakeup to the NSW curriculum in over 30 years.

Minister for Education Sarah Mitchell said the NSW Liberals & Nationals Government is getting on with the job of delivering Australia’s best education system, providing NSW students with the academic foundations and critical thinking to thrive in a competitive, globalised workforce.

“Whether you are a carpenter or a software engineer, maths is a companion for life, we want to make sure that the new curriculum provides a level of maths concepts that will help every NSW student succeed in life after school,” Ms Mitchell said.

“Parents have a reasonable expectation that their children are mathematically literate when they finish school in Year 12.

“The interim report on the Curriculum Review has indicated that it is time for significant changes and we want maths to be a part of that.”

The NSW Government will begin consultation with education stakeholders over how maths can be incorporated into every single year of a child’s educational journey – from Kindergarten to the end of the HSC. 

NSW Department of Education

This story was written by the NSW Department of Education. School News shares it with permission.

Related Articles

Back to top button
SchoolNews - Australia